FANS were sent into meltdown after witnessing the “weirdest penalty ever” last night.
The hilarious incident occurred on Thursday in the Saudi Pro League.
Former West Ham boss Slaven Bilic was not the only one completely perplexed by last night’s penalty decisionCredit: Getty
Al Fateh star Fahad Al Harbi attempted to high five his goalkeeper but instead accidentally handled the ballCredit: Twitter
Bottom side Al Hazm were taking on Al Fateh, who are managed by ex-West Ham and West Brom boss Slaven Bilic.
They took the lead after just five minutes through Bruno Viana before they were literally HANDED the chance to double their lead in extraordinary fashion.
Al Fateh goalkeeper Jacob Rinne came racing out to collect a loose ball and picked it up with ease inside his area.
That led to his team-mate Fahad Al Harbi attempting to give his stopper a high five – but he messed up big time.
Amazingly, while performing the gesture, he accidentally hit the ball, which was still being clutched by Sweden international Rinne, with his hand.
And the eagle-eyed referee wasted no time in pointing to the spot after awarding a penalty for handball.
The game finished 2-0 to the hosts, but, of course, nobody was interested in the result.
The clip of Al Harbi’s handball soon went viral on social media, and fans were quick to leap into the comments with many unable to believe what they had seen.
FREE BETS – BEST BETTING OFFERS & NEW CUSTOMER BONUSES
One asked: “Is this the weirdest reason for a penalty ever?2
Another wrote: “What was he thinking?”
A third fan commented: “What in the Sunday League has happened here.”
A fellow footy supporter posted: “Al Fateh’s defender wanted to high-five his keeper; ended up touching the ball and giving away a penalty.”
While another added: “Al Fateh defender’s intention: a friendly pat on the goalkeeper. Reality: Accidentally taps the ball instead!”