AC MILAN will submit a formal Uefa complaint against referee Cuneyt Cakir after he awarded Atletico Madrid a controversial stoppage time penalty.
The LaLiga champions were visiting the San Siro for their second group game in the Champions League.
An official complaint against referee Cakir will be madeCredit: GETTY IMAGES
Kalulu was penalised for handball despite it striking the arm of Lemar firstCredit: AFP
Rafael Leao opened the scoring for Milan in the early stages of the first half.
However, disaster struck minutes later as Franck Kessie was shown a second yellow card and consequently sent off.
Milan impressively held their lead all the way into the final ten minutes of the match, before Antoine Griezmann struck to equalise.
And deep into added time, referee Cakir awarded Atletico a penalty kick, penalising Pierre Kalulu for handball DESPITE it striking the arm of Thomas Lemar first.
Luis Suarez stepped up and tucked the penalty away, sealing a controversial win for Atletico.
VAR didn’t intervene and an on-field review did not take place.
If it had, the penalty decision would have been overturned and Milan could have possibly registered their first point in the group.
And according to La Gazzetta dello Sport, the Italian club are so unhappy with Cakir’s performance that they will lodge an official complaint with Uefa.
Former Italian referee Gianluca Paparesta expects Cakir to get suspended after the mistake.
Paparesta believes the Turkish officials decision could cost Milan porgressing into the knockout stages of the competition.
Speaking to TMW Radio, Paparesta said: “Absolutely, and I hope for a long time an explanation of refereeing mistakes because communication eliminates many problems. We are still behind.
“I did not understand the reasons why the Turkish referee did not even go for a VAR review.
“When a decisive penalty is awarded, the referee and the VAR must ensure that there are no flaws in the action.
“You can see Lemar’s touch before that of Kalulu, a voluntary touch to settle the ball.
“The referee should have intervened and not validated the penalty kick. This result can cost the qualification to Milan.”
⚽ Read our Football news live blog for the very latest rumours, gossip and done deals
The Insidexpress is now on Telegram and Google News. Join us on Telegram and Google News, and stay updated.